Quirky quirky

Ten quirky things I love to do!

1. Eating a chapati in 10 pieces: I have never understood why I like to do it, but I always seem to end up doing it! πŸ˜€

2. Stacking utensils with smallest in the front (or top) and biggest at the back (or bottom)

3. Trying to walk as if I am walking on an invisible line πŸ˜€ (I do it much lesser nowadays though)

4. Remembering the “layout” of all the shops I go to (maybe, this stems from my obsession with efficiency, go straight to the aisle you need a thing from, get the bill done and Hola!)

5. Arranging currency notes so that their ‘layout’ matches

6. Making lists! I loooove making lists, things to do, things done, things to pack, people to call, mails to write…..lists, lists, lists!

7. Gift wrapping beautifully………..I do that with such sincerity that I myself sometimes end up feeling like the gift is meant never to be opened πŸ˜€

8. Making folder on my computer – This has got to be the craziest! In Ananth’s words – Ever heard of something called a Search function? πŸ˜€ But I make folders endlessly, nevertheless!

9. Clearing off the inbox: GMail allows so much space (and I have additional bought as well!!!!) but I loooove to see a clear inbox with no pending mails! πŸ˜€

10. Ironing clothes – I somehow enjoy seeing the creases smoothed out! I hardly ever wear clothes that need ironing but I enjoy ironing because of that smoothing! Crazy, isn’t it? πŸ˜€

So, what are YOUR quirks?

7 Comments

  1. laasya said,

    June 7, 2011 at 6:26 am

    ha ha, really nice ‘list’!! ;)) i can well imagine that you know EXactly where to go in a shop the second time!! πŸ™‚ my quirk shopswise is finding everything all over again each time..not hard, because anyway i dont remember πŸ˜›

    i do your number 3 too!!!walking on an invisible line while on the phone!! not much these days though..

    i m exactly the opposite on inboxes..last i checked it had 2445 messages πŸ™‚

    what are my quirks? you know most of them πŸ™‚ i think i ve stuck with checking under the bed and bureau and walking (almost) into ditches, the most πŸ™‚ and introducing myself as someone else..

  2. Joyshree said,

    June 7, 2011 at 10:21 am

    u r a major case of OCD!!!! never knew that!:)
    i think im one too…in the extreme opposite way to urs! may be a bit like laasya.
    but the craziest thing about me is…whatever mood i am in, an appropriate song plays in my head!! so when i am angry, there is an angry song running, and when i am sad…a sad song plays in my head automatically!! and of course happy songs play at other times:)

    i cannot sleep in complete darkness, or windows open. and curtains should always be drawn. i am scared of the dark and ghosts!!

    while walking…i cant resist walking on those low, narrow bunds usually at the sides of pavements. i think i balance quite well;p

    not much interesting ones i can think of.

  3. Ananthakrishnan said,

    June 7, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Whenever steps are made of two stones, they are usually of different length. The joint of these two stones are not exactly at the centre…. sometimes to the left, sometimes to the right. I walk in such a way that if the joint is to the left, I place my right foot and vice versa. That (besides my dreaming in the toilet), according to me is my only quirk. Others are largely temporary (like my sandwiches on most mornings). I have an obsession though, not having any quirks.

    I have one really weird quirk though. I brush my teeth after I wake up….

  4. June 9, 2011 at 6:53 am

    All this sounds like rehearsal time chit chat outside the SAC music room on one of those practice days! πŸ™‚

  5. Pritesh said,

    June 9, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Laasya: I can so so see you in those quirks! πŸ˜€
    Joyshree: Ya ya, I am a total case of OCD about organizing and reorganizing and re-reorganizing! πŸ˜€ The song playing in your head is damn funny and cute! πŸ˜€ I should try that some time! πŸ˜€
    Ananth: Walking like that is something I didn’t notice yet! πŸ˜€ And well, I think all of us probably have the SAME quirk of brushing our teeth AFTER we wake up! Haven’t met anyone who brushes ‘before’! πŸ˜€
    Sujit: Hahahaha, how I miss those conversations with you! πŸ™‚

  6. June 9, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Joy! That song playing in the head is really funny but real. Last year, when I used to sit in the bathroom washing my son’s countless nappies, my wife had often caught me singing (‘dil dhoondhta hai phir wahi phursat ke raat din…’), and her reactions often had elements apart from appreciation for the song! πŸ˜‰
    Another common thing is often some absurd song will just stick to us for the whole day (as they say in Hindi: ‘zubaan pe chadh jana’), and we will find ourselves humming that song every now and then. Can’t avoid it. Funny part is, the song mayn’t even be one of our favourites. Sometimes, they are even one of those strange songs, e.g. ‘munni badnaam’ or ‘dabangg’ types.

  7. Joyshree said,

    June 15, 2011 at 5:07 am

    @sujit and pritesh: ya.. and many times i myself don’t realise that i am singing. often i would be humming something and sometimes even those flop songs that most people never heard… and only when they ask why am i singing such songs that i realise i have been singing!!! ;p
    its a tricky and dangerous thing coz sometimes you give away your thoughts to people through the songs, and can be quite embarrassing!


Leave a Reply

