Only 24 hours for so many excuses……

It has happened so many times in the past few years that I have come across this or some variant of this (essence remaining the same): “I would really like to do ………… (fill in the blank with a host of things) but I don’t have time”.  The blank varied from pursuing hobbies, reading books, spending time to oneself, exercising, socializing……..a whole range of it but the reason for not doing so remained pretty much the same, not enough time. In the allotted 24 hours to us by time, are we doing “so much” that we have no more time left to do all that we “want” to do and not “need” to do?

In my opinion, no, it’s not so. Someone has very rightly said: Your time expands to accommodate all that you really want to do.  So, this “I don’t have enough time” is nothing but probably an excuse to hide some inefficiency of our own, over-committing,  lack of motivation to do something, laziness etc. The sense of ‘investment’ of time in things that matter (to that individual) is slowly diminishing. We are spending more and more of our time in things that don’t give us fulfillment and contentment. As a result, the end of the day brings a sense of achievement without satisfaction. We have ‘done’ a lot of things but we end up feeling empty…….like something important’s missing.

Over the years, I have realized that getting rid of these excuses and using our time well is largely made up of some very small things we need to change. Taking small steps like identifying our time wasters, reprioritizing our commitments in the order of actual need, allotting some “open time” to ourselves to indulge in doing something completely for our own pleasure are some of the things that really help in making our seconds, minutes, days and years more fulfilling. By no means do I recommend living tied to the hands of the clock, but with this day and ago of so many time management tools, I find it sinful to say I don’t have time!!

And I end with a lovely quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson: This time, like any other time, is a good one, if we but know what to do with it 🙂

8 Comments

  1. Sujit Kumar Chakrabarti said,

    July 22, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Hi. Nice post. I am thinking of writing a book on ‘Time Management for Dummies.’ Mind contributing a chapter or two?! 😉

    I’ll add a thought I had related to this. My personal viewpoint is that if I consider my inefficiencies (which, over time, I’ve learned to consider as real), there indeed is limited time. Given that, doing everything everyday is simply not possible for me. I often run out of energy before I run out of time. Therefore, I have trained hard to slow down. These are some thumb rules which seem to work for me:
    – Do not try to do everything everyday
    – Plan loosely
    – Cycle between your interests (the reason why some months I find myself churning out reels of blog-posts; other months, painting doodles; some other times, working hard on research). That has benefits similar to crop rotation
    – Chill. Once in a while, slump down on the sofa, and flip through the most gruesome soaps airing on the TV. 🙂 But, ONCE IN A WHILE!

  2. Pritesh said,

    July 22, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Oh yea sure Sujit! Those are nice pointers 🙂 And I won’t mind contributing a Chapter or two! 😀

  3. laasya said,

    July 22, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    i must start by saying you re damn good at squeezing in things into time to expand the day! 🙂 yes i completely agree that ‘i have no time’ frequently means ‘i m too lazy’ 🙂 but i guess we do prioritize! if we really want to do something i believe most of us will atleast try. and yes undoubtedly doing things that make you happy will leave you satisfied and smiley at the end of the day! 🙂 that includes daydream time and read a juicy detective story time and crib about someone time 😉

  4. Pritesh said,

    July 22, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I completely agree with particularly the last bit Laasya. One does need those leisure times to simply recharge and connect with people. Hail Nesara chais and Faculty Club toasts 🙂

  5. Rajani said,

    July 22, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Hmmm… let us revisit this sometime in November 🙂 To be fair, I probably thought the same about a year ago, but it is not always true that if you don’t get to do what you want to do, it’s not always laziness or bad time management. Like Sujit says, sometimes you are do darned exhausted that 6 hours of uninterrupted shut eye is far more tempting than reading a book (or some other hobby)

    Btw, does reading/replying to posts count as bad time management? :p

  6. sathya prakash said,

    July 23, 2010 at 5:18 am

    Can we finally abstract this out by telling that remove such thoughts from your mind like: I wanted to do this, I wanted to do that, I wasted time, etc…
    Just fill thoughts of contentment and that brings joy 🙂
    ??

  7. Pushpa said,

    July 23, 2010 at 6:28 am

    I like the way Sujit has enumerated his thoughts.
    I believe that sometimes we also need to do nothing if we so wish. (call it being lazy) but yes one needs to do that to. And don’t forget ‘getting bored’, that is also equally important.
    The difference in people is that – some like lazing all the time more and some like being bored more, so they keep doing it. So they naturally have no time for other things they say they they would like to do.(Laasya, this is also cribbing, which many people like to do, as you rightly said.)
    Jokes apart, sometimes your priorities at a said phase of life is so much loopsided, that you really run out of energy (and time) to do something you really, really want to do.( 🙂 Sujit)
    Optimising your satisfaction in things that you manage to do and being honest with yourself if you really want to do something, I guess will help ???????

  8. karthik said,

    July 25, 2010 at 5:52 am

    Exactly Pritesh !! In my opinion, the only people who can give the ‘I dont have time’ excuse are those who have children ! They really must be busy ! For the rest of us , it boils down to procrastination or laziness at the end of the day ( or during the day 🙂 )
    Maybe we’d have the right to complain if we already make every second count ! But, most of us haven’t reached that point !


Leave a Reply

