Waka Waka…..aye yo

Every day at 20:30 sharp

I battled with husband glued to sofa

And 22 players on the TV

Vuvuzelas screaming full flow

Like thousands of bees humming

Waging a losing battle daily

Finally, had to get to me

I succumbed, eating in front of TV

And watched Brazil vs. Ivory Coast

Then started my ‘education’

My head buzzed with off-sides

Fouls and faking injury, goals

And goal-keepers, wins and losses

Ah! Marriage, thou have given me

A husband and football lessons too

But most important lesson I learnt is:

If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em

– Pritesh

9 Comments

  1. DDey said,

    June 21, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    COOL!!! 🙂 I learnt that too! 😉 🙂

  2. Pushpa said,

    June 21, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Yes, the things we have to learn and do to keep peace at home. 🙂

  3. K.Gopal said,

    June 21, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    mmmm Good . dont be surprised that by the time the match heads to finale husband will post similare blog complainig that how the student who learnt basic lessons of foot ball started telling inticay of the game!!!

  4. anju said,

    June 22, 2010 at 4:33 am

    i completely understand your situation pritesh…and your wisdom in accepting the inevitable!

  5. SHamit said,

    June 22, 2010 at 7:05 am

    I mean how can you NOT ENJOY Futbol? I’ts so much fun………….. ;):P:)

  6. Pritesh said,

    June 22, 2010 at 9:19 am

    @ DDey: Good DDey, it’s a battle that can’t be won! 😀
    @ Amma: So totally true Amma! 🙂
    @ Appa: Hahahaha, it’ll take me a few lifetimes to get to that level! 😀
    @ Anju: Accepting the inevitable, it was, indeed!
    @ Shamit: Ah ya! I would’ve enjoyed books in Cantonese, Spanish and Swahili, IF I knew the languages! Ain’t it? 😀

  7. Madhurima said,

    June 23, 2010 at 4:41 am

    Hey, I totally am glued to football and so we both scream and cheer at the goals and despair at all the yellow and red cards together:)…but did face a similar situation with F1 and other adventure sports:)…i look at it like another new lesson and more food for new conversations!

  8. Karthik said,

    June 25, 2010 at 7:13 am

    haha !! 🙂 Nice one Pritesh !! 🙂 From exasperation to acceptance ! 🙂 Will be great if you manage to even enjoy it ! 🙂

  9. Pritesh said,

    June 29, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    @ Madhurima: If we had any more food for conversation, we’d soon need to quit our jobs to take enough time out for talking! 😀 Compulsive talkers married to each other! 🙂

    @ Karthik: Well, I am beginning to enjoy it in the sense that I can despair at a failed goal attempt (though largely out of sympathy for the one who hit the goal than the loss of a goal itself) and praise at a good goal. So, I guess, I’m doing fine! I even make snacks for us to munch on while watching the match 😀


Leave a Reply

