Comment, comment, comment

Scenario 1: Yours truly reading an article on CNN about a new species of fish probably going extinct because of the BP oil spill in the Gulf. Fortunately, most news websites allow commenting (often not moderated) by the website. By the time I was through with the article, I felt so bad for what the spill is doing to the environment, not just to the pancake batfish, but also to other organisms in the ocean. By the time I was through with reading first 25 comments, I didn’t know whose hair to pull. Comments like: This thing is so ugly, let it go extinct. Illiterates using Internet, looks like! Aarrrgh…….

Scenario 2: Yours truly reading an article on Rediff about music review of upcoming movie, Raavan. I had heard 3 songs already and liked one of them. Agreed, not Rehman’s best but catchy nevertheless. I finished reading the article that nearly agreed with my opinion of the Music and well, there were the comments. One guy had totally rejected the Music and argued that Rehman is not in form anymore (he quoted Dil Se and Lagaan, which are definitely some of the Rehman’s best creations). Fair enough! The replies took me by surprise. It was the reply that make me realize that the guy who rejected Raavan as a credible effort was a Hindu because the second comment trashed his opinion, not on Musical grounds, but religious!!! RELIGIOUS? I had to rub my eyes to believe! The argument being: You Hindus won’t understand a Muslim’s efforts at creating music in a film based on a Hindu epic character. Hellllllloooooooooo? Someone actually had the patience to dig out the history of Rehman’s conversion to Islam because Hinduism is not meant for anything great! Helllllllooooooo????????? And well……….there was a string of replies to this! The people commenting lost me after the second reply itself! The dip in IQ (if it can still be called that) from comment to comment appalled me so much that I’m still recovering!

Scenario 3: Yours truly reading an article on Times of India meant to advise women (Indian women, to be specific) about how to keep their husbands hooked to them. Ahem well! The article was stupid enough…..which most TOI articles are nowadays, anyway. But the comments? Masha Allah! One guy comments: You’re trying to spread immorality in Indian marriages by inciting Indian women into demanding things from their husbands. Indian women are to do their husband’s bidding, don’t publish articles like this. Uhm well………..illiterates using computers again?

Guess I’ll stop reading news altogether after some time!

12 Comments

  1. Shuba said,

    June 17, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Hah hah ha !! Your outrage is truly justified. Anonymity seems to offer dimwits like that to make neanderthal comments. Anyway, it made me smile, so there is some use for their stupidity.

  2. Ashima said,

    June 17, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    voila….you know when m totally frustrated at research work..i just open rediff or TOI and just start digging the comments…byjove by the time i close the browser there is a big uncontrollable laughter on my face. The comments are really phunny ( fun intended). I mean its amazing why don’t people use their minds before commenting on a public website

  3. Parvathy said,

    June 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    The thing is, internet and blogging has been used as a means of communiaction. When we are sitting down for some chai and exchanging points and views, this is exactly what we do: utter foolish opinions, joke around, not think, just comment because it’s just a response and depending on how close your friends are, the more honest you are.
    However, I don’t read comments that don’t make sense to me. Don’t have patience and time for imbeciles. But if I’m reading an article on npr or the hindu or huffington post or blogginheads, I would care to read the comments.
    I don’t read TOI, it’s more colour than character. That being said, : http://issendai.livejournal.com/572510.html πŸ˜€
    [don’t read the comments, you’re wasting your time]

  4. Ananthakrishnan said,

    June 17, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Thats why I don’t bother commenting about the articles or reading the comments. I post the comments on a blog πŸ™‚

  5. Sathya said,

    June 17, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I’ll wait for the 25th comment.

    In the meanwhile, all the items you read are ‘opinions’ not news, these are follow-up opinions of a news item that came a long time ago. If the newspapers / tv channels (who make consumer pay) can write any trash why deny the right of free speech to the population? Each person is free to state their beliefs (yes, including the one’s on wife behavorial science – I would put in a line for belly dance there).

    Maybe they can come-up with a rating system for comments that allows you to rate the comments based on relevance of content, intelligence, wit etc. That’ll keep more of these people occupied in rating other comments than writing one themselves (looks like facebook, twitter, buzz and all that jazz isn’t keeping people busy enough!).

    You could sell the idea to google and try to make a pile!

  6. Vinod said,

    June 17, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Pritz,

    When I opt for a break, I open youtube. I just love the youtube comments especially those for ‘Failblog’ videos……!!!
    It is addictive!!!
    And the comment about the ugly fish is just hilarious!!!
    I don’t know why do you take it so seriously ……

  7. Vinod said,

    June 17, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    For example

  8. Karthik said,

    June 17, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Ya lots of comments are stupid ! I don’t know if we should be bothered by them ! anyway they’re likely posted in a platform where they cannot make a real difference . So If someone is saying something stupid, let him say it, and we can choose to ignore it I think !:-) If nothing else, I think they remind us to not take life too seriously πŸ™‚

  9. Bhavin said,

    June 17, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    Just seeing the lighter side!! No comments!! πŸ˜‰

  10. Pushpa said,

    June 18, 2010 at 6:48 am

    These comments are like Khote Sikke. They are offered. Whether you take them or leave them is your choice. πŸ™‚

  11. Kripa D said,

    June 18, 2010 at 9:41 am

    hahaha all this made me laugh! It’s insane how people do find the time to write such rubbish. It’s mad enough that media itself wastes time in publishing articles about celebrity weight loss and how to keep your man’s attention off the world cup…but when people take the trouble in commenting to such claptrap it makes you wonder what’s up with our society?

    Nonetheless i love Raavan soundtrack, it’s not easy to akin to at first but the more you hear it the more it grows on you. Heard movie is not all that! Raanja Raanja is a great track!

  12. Pritesh said,

    June 22, 2010 at 9:26 am

    @ Shuba Aunty: I so totally agree. Anonymity seems to have done wonders to exposing the hidden stupidity of the Internet users πŸ˜€

    @ Ashima: Absolutely! And Rediff leads the pack in the stupidest comments I’ve ever come across

    @ Parvathy: Hahahaha, you’re so right Parvathy!

    @ Ananth: Is my post being counted in the same league as those TOI articles? πŸ˜€

    @ Sathya: I’ll wait for the Belly Dance bit you’ve got to add to the general intelligence of TOI! πŸ˜€ And well………suggest this to Ram, he always seems to want to make a pile off some shady schemes πŸ˜€

    @ Vinod: I don’t take the ‘comment’ seriously Vinod, it’s the horror of seeing that people CAN post such stupidity that gets to me. No harm in being stupid but displaying it?

    @ Karthik: I can’t say I’m bothered by the comments, per se. It’s more like horror when an ‘honuor killing’ article finds support through comments that I set out thinking, if the literate Internet users think this, how can we blame the illiterate villagers for their ignorance?

    @ Amma: True Amma, but one can’t help but wonder about the ‘mentality’ behind those comments…..

    @ Kripa: I so totally agree Kripa! Society seems to be heading to a strange place, isn’t it? And ya, I too looooove Ranjha Ranjha πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

