Too simple, eh?

Why do you laugh? asked he
It’s refreshing, said me
Why refreshing?, asked he
Just like that, said me

That’s not enough, said he
It is, for me, said me
How can it be?, asked he
It just is, said me

Think more, said he
But why should I?, asked me
Because, you laughed, said he
Does that hurt?, asked me

No, it doesn’t, said he
Then, why worry?, asked me
It’s for some reason, said he
Chill & just laugh, said me

You don’t understand, said he
I don’t need to, said me
Phew, I give up, said he
Good, now laugh, said me πŸ˜€

Simplicity is often too simple for most people to understand………this is my tribute to simple joys of life………..like dancing in the rain, like making funny faces to make a child laugh, like wanting to wear polka dots frocks to a picnic, like fugdi………….

13 Comments

  1. sandeep said,

    September 4, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    really nice one

  2. Ananthakrishnan said,

    September 4, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Thats pretty much beyond me. But I can understand that one can be that way.

  3. vinod said,

    September 4, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Like wearing a Lungi and relaxing in Surathkal beach….

  4. bhavin said,

    September 4, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    its simple you crazy! πŸ˜‰

  5. Sathya said,

    September 5, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Somewhere in the dark a cockroach overhears the conversation and grins …

  6. Ranjana said,

    September 5, 2009 at 8:32 am

    @ Pritesh: nice…!! πŸ™‚

    @ Vinod and Sathya… hahaha… πŸ˜€

  7. Sujit said,

    September 5, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Well said!

    One can spend huge time thinking on what ‘fundamentally’ gives us joy. What defines ‘beauty’? But on the other hand, it would be a misfortune to let pass by the little joys which evidently are there whether we consciously understand their nature or not.
    But you know when a person thinks, do you think it’s got a reason? He loves to concoct a reason to put everything in a consistent theory ‘everything’s got to have a reason’. But the fact is: even he thinks because it’s refreshing, un-hurtful, joyous to think — for him. Joy is a personal thing. To expect others to experience a joy in the same way as us might be overstepping our boundaries. Hence, let him let you experience you joy in your way. While he does it in his thinking way.
    Often, when he is done thinking, it’s possible to communicate its beauty through the result of that thinking. To experience the beauty in the process of thinking is reserved for a weird few! πŸ˜‰

    To put the words in my own mouth: Some people love simplicity, but some people love The Complicated Path to Simplicity. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for touching a very close to heart topic!

  8. Bhargavi said,

    September 5, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    I am in absolute agreement with Sujit. I couldnt have said it better!
    But I get what you’re saying too, Prits.
    There is joy in everything – both in the simple and the complex. Its just upto one to perceive it in either.. πŸ™‚
    Nice and interesting thread!

  9. Pritesh said,

    September 6, 2009 at 9:09 am

    @ Sandeep: Thanks
    @ Ananth: Yes indeed, that is what’s needed. To understand that there IS another way of living.
    @Vinod: I totally agree Vinoda! I mean, about the beach part, not the lungi part! πŸ˜€
    @ Sathya: This the cockroach pre-nirvana or post it? πŸ˜€
    @ Sujit: I agree Sujit. Only the other day, I read this article about gut instinct. It went on to say that when gut instinct has decided something, mind merely tries to justify it to itself (and sometimes, to others) as to why the decision was taken. I guess what this post meant was that one can’t probably question someone else’s joys in things they enjoy doing. They do, so they do. Not everything has to have a reason understandable to everyone (I doubt there is ANY such thing!)
    @ Bhargavi: It’s true Bos. I don’t think enjoying simple things has to be received as foolish or childish by most people. Each one to themselves, as they say! πŸ™‚

  10. karthik said,

    September 6, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Very nice Pritesh !! A simple AND nice ( as opposed to simple YET nice ) poem !

  11. Madhurima said,

    September 7, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Why u ask questions like this? said he…
    I am made this way, said me
    You are unique and insane, said he…
    At least am the way I am, said me.

    In the rigmarole of things, we often forget the burnt bhutta, the dew on the leaves post the rain, the tiny puddle and the million ripples, the blinkering rainbow and the silent smiles…
    Pritesh! Simply super:)

  12. Pritesh said,

    September 14, 2009 at 11:55 am

    @ Karthik: Well said Karthik. I am glad that the poem was simple AND nice!
    @ Madhurima: I so totally agree! I am the way I am, VERY well said!!!!

  13. JJ said,

    March 24, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Nice..

    “Like wearing a Lungi and relaxing in Surathkal beach….”… Classic Vinoda! LOL


Leave a Reply

