The First Leaf

I walked along the known trail

Lazy steps and carefree soul

Watching the sun go red

As I took my evening stroll

.

I picked a leaf, off a giant tree

And off a tiny sapling too

Never giving it a second thought

What to them, it will do

.

Morning dawned, I walked again

The tree as it was the other day

But nothing of the sapling was

Where it once, shyly, lay

.

I asked the tree, what all this meant

And where the sapling had to go

The tree yawned, looked at me

And said, Do you really want to know?

.

“The first leaf was all it had,

The poor sapling, down below

It never will, come out again

To become a tree, or to grow”

.

“A leaf lost isn’t much to me,

Many more will take its place

By end of day, I will forget

The leaf’s fate, I will embrace”

.

“The sapling though, will not be

A sapling or tree anymore

By now, it will have gone back

To where it was before…………

10 Comments

  1. Lata said,

    March 25, 2009 at 5:25 am

    Very nice, makes one think.
    In my experience, I’ve seen kids stop pinching off the new leaves from a plant once you explain the plants’ food making process to them (of course according to the age level).
    On another level, the same verses would make sense with “hope” also. If the hope is crushed, there isn’t much left.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. laasya said,

    March 25, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I liked the thought VERY much! well done! 🙂 And a million possible interpretations , too :)..my english teacher would’ve had a ball with this :))

  3. Ananth said,

    March 25, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    I can understand what you told me much better with this. But really, this is a very beautiful way to explain.

  4. DDey said,

    March 25, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Beautiful! Ananth’s comment makes me even more curious!!! 😉 🙂

  5. Ananth said,

    March 25, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    A colourful flower,
    A busy bee:
    Both need each other,
    Nature’s propriety.

    The bee
    Decides one day
    He will be a flower
    All bright and gay.

    Will the flower
    Be cheering?
    And the other bees
    Be encouraging?

    Anyway, the bee
    Stands still
    And pretends to be
    A flower until….

    The other bees
    Laugh at the poor thing
    Egg it on to
    Be entertaining.

    The flower
    Finds it amusing,
    That the busy little bee
    Is pretending.

    Does the flower know
    The busy little worker
    Is trying all his heart
    To be a flower?

  6. bhavin said,

    March 26, 2009 at 3:02 am

    The sapling said..
    I might look shy
    and a little weak
    but deep inside nature’s heartbeats
    what you take from me is but a small piece
    that which is gone i have no regret
    something i would rather forget
    i see the mighty tree beside
    a desire deep grows inside
    to reach for the blue fast and high
    take what you want you silly girl
    and when i am older
    take a flower for those heady curls

  7. Pritesh said,

    March 26, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Oh My! Looks like I’ve brought out poets in people! 🙂

    @ Lata: Thanks Lata. Indeed, the verse has many possible interpretations, depending on which way you wish to interpret it.
    @ Laasya: Indeed, this poem would’ve given ME nightmares 15 years ago! 😉 Ya, I wrote it in a very specific context but one’s free to interpret whichever way one likes
    @ Ananth: Thanks, I am glad you could grasp what it meant!
    @ DDey: Indeed DDey, this post has its roots in one of our end-of-the-day conversation day before….
    @ Ananth: Ananth, I don’t know why you don’t write a blog yourself! You’re SO very good at it!!!!!
    @ Bhavin: Thanks Bhavin, that is a beautiful new perspective. Poetic Bhavin?

  8. bhavin said,

    March 27, 2009 at 2:26 am

    In a corner of the mind
    not so easy to find
    a poet in waiting does reside
    from what you sense
    he almost seems to hide
    but a moment is all it takes
    like a spark before the fire
    he has been waiting for something that can inspire
    🙂
    Thank you too!!!

  9. karthik said,

    March 29, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    Beautiful one Pritesh !! very sensitively written . very Nice thought..

  10. Manjari said,

    April 15, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    nice read…


Leave a Reply

