A little thank you note…….

As the Kingfisher flight from Bangalore to Pune came to an end, the crew began handing out the feedback forms to the passengers. Many didn’t take them but I did. I really liked their service and wanted to leave an encouraging note to them to continue serving this well. The lady next to me saw me taking a feedback form and said, “You have complaints against their service?”. I was a little surprised but I answered in negative. She added, “Then, how come a feedback form? Isn’t it only for complaining about thigs that weren’t proper?”. I mumbled a “I don’t think so” and started filling the form with superlatives. I was very happy with the way I’d been treated, both on-board and during check-in, a helping hand and smile always ready. In short, my best flying experience so far!

As I got off the plane and waited for being picked up, I started thinking about that lady’s comment. “Feedback”? Equal to “complaining”? And then, sprang some more incidents to my memory. An auto driver in Bangalore who religiously used hand signs on all signals, spoke very gently and didn’t ask for illogical surplus fare (a REAL surprise after my experience with auto-drivers). When I got off, I said a thank you and “Keep up the good work”. I tried giving him ten rupees extra but he refused and left with a smile. A juice-shop owner at Delhi airport who roamed around at the airport for 15 minutes to return my purse I’d forgotten in his shop. A guard at Bangalore airport who was checking the identification of all the passengers and taxi-drivers to make sure no unauthentic person entered the airport premises (I was sad to see that some passengers were making it an ego issue for having to show their identification). Another thank you, a smile exchanged and satisfaction!

How many times do we take a few moments to thank someone who is doing a good job of what they’re supposed to be doing? And compare it with how many times we make it a point to scream, shout, complain about someone who’s not doing their job the way they’re supposed to be doing. My attempts at thanking someone doing good work have sometimes met with “It’s his job and he’s doing it, what’s there to appreciate?”. 

Maybe a little appreciation of their sincerity is all we need to encourage the good people in the world to continue to be good. And who knows, this may encourage some not-so-good ones into becoming better! A small “Thank you” and “Keep up the good work” will not hurt us, but it may bring a smile to someone who continues to do the same thing year after year, often thanklessly! It’s my sincere request to all the readers, the next time you see someone like that, please thank them for their spirit of good work! A little appreciation goes a long way……….

14 Comments

  1. shamit said,

    January 20, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    Cool! Thank you for reminding and keep up the good work Pritesh!! 🙂

  2. Ananth said,

    January 20, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Wonderful point you have made. I hope I remember to be happy about getting good service and spread my happiness to the person from whom I am receiving the service.

  3. anju said,

    January 20, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    reminds me of when i got the indian store couple a gift from india because they are so nice and their shop makes such a big difference in our life here…they also said people always complain…never appreciate…you are absolutely right.

  4. laasya said,

    January 20, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Absolutely! can’t help remembering the last time u were around and I thanked the autodriver though..he he..:)last para- please make sure the gratitude is accepted by the right person!!

  5. Ram said,

    January 21, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Im certain guards at the bangalore airport are at fault for this whole business of disregard for sincierity, for they let unauthentic persons inside. Btw are these people made in china? 😛
    A feedback of any kind is a good thing, what worries me is indifference and what’s annoying is resignation.

  6. bhavin said,

    January 21, 2009 at 2:17 am

    Encouraging good things is just as important as discouraging the bad cause if we dont then how would anyone know what is and what isnt?
    Very poignant Prits! I have done this in restaurant’s and on aircraft as well..it can only make things better..indifference and constant negativity are cancerous

  7. Pritesh said,

    January 21, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Thanks a lot Shamit…….

    I know Ananth, sometimes, we just take small (but not unimportant) things for granted…..

    I agree with you Anju, we often forget to thank people who make our lives comfortable with small gestures……I too remember getting that odd Indian sweet when I visit the India shop, sometimes, a bottle of water…..small things but show lots of care…..

    And Laas, if you were looking at the auto-wala while saying the thanks, I wouldn’t be confused! (I can bet that the auto-wala was unaware that you were thanking him) 😀

    And Ram, I had a ticket for flying, a valid driving license issued by Government of India……:D

    I agree Bhavin, indifference and negativity can be great energy sappers…..

  8. pushpa said,

    January 24, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    I have been doing this for quite many years. The result it very positive. Not only have these people responded with a smile, they have remembered me and the next time I met them I received better service,thuogh my initial reason for thanking them was only appreciation of work well done.
    This is one lesson Indians must learn from the foreigners. They do thank peopke for service received,a lot, while we, Indians take things for granted. Just see, we even have to write to one another,showing or reminding about this basic lesson on curtesy.

  9. Sandeep said,

    February 7, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    excellent point made…

    unfortunately this point cannot be “taught”…morality cannot be taught unless humans convert to cyborg with an input port for programming 🙂

    but its worth mentioning that “appreciation” is important to keep up good work even if its not demanded…human society works on social habits…the better ones we make, will propagate more and more and will ultimately become habit of whole society…thats how we evolve…maybe we have little control over physical evolution but we must control on how we evolve socially

  10. Pritesh said,

    February 7, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    I totally agree with you Aunty. I have had similar experiences when my second visit has turned out to be much more pleasant than the first one because my first was with a “Thank you”. Guess we all need to learn this as a matter of habit…….

    Sandeep, you’ve made a very valid point there. Appreciation indeed can and should be made a social habit!

  11. preeti said,

    February 16, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    true! could not agree more!

  12. sri said,

    February 27, 2009 at 11:10 am

    hi.. a very nice post!! n i truely agree with u…

  13. sri said,

    February 27, 2009 at 11:11 am

    hi.. a very nice post!!

  14. Pritesh said,

    March 3, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Thanks Sri! 🙂


Leave a Reply

