A new life

Young and tender, in need of care
I look at your loving smile
You move your hands through my hair
So affectionately, free of guile

You kiss my forehead
And hold me in your hands
You hold me close, and whisper
These words, no one understands

I grow under your loving eyes,
To a big boy, tough as a rock.
I work hard, to make a life
Until I can no longer hold back my stock

I spend myself, throw all I have
At life, the hungry cavern.
All shriveled and wrinkled, back I come
To your arms, it feels like heaven!

With that kiss on my forehead
And with that gentle touch,
In time, you steel me again, prepared
To start a new life, from scratch

– Ananth and Pritesh (in the absence of an active blog from Ananth, I’m posting it on mine)

7 Comments

  1. lata said,

    August 27, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Nicely written…thanks for sharing.

  2. SHAMIT said,

    August 27, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Wah good job, nice poetry – Ananth & Pritesh!

  3. Ram said,

    August 27, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Lo and behold, flowing verse!
    your eyes drunk with dopamine,
    twined in lovers arms,
    ’tis not the best time for poert, my love!

  4. Ram said,

    August 27, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    poetry*

  5. Cacofonix said,

    August 27, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Verse written in euphoric theatre
    Or in morbid solitude
    If writ without rhyme or metre
    Spurts horrid destitute

  6. Pritesh said,

    August 28, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Thanks Lata, for dropping by and leaving a comment.

    Thanks Shamit, for being the appreciator!

    Well Ram, I will try writing drunk with NaCl next time!

    And Cacofonix, the idea of the verse isn’t poetic supremacy, it’s the togetherness, woven with words, not to win literary admiration, but to celebrate the confluence of thoughts…….well, I suppose you missed the true emphasis

  7. karthik said,

    August 30, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Nice. warm and gentle feel to it ! good debut, the pair has made 🙂


Leave a Reply

