I am a nobody

I know that you notice my baggy shirt
But not that I’m fit for jogging miles
I know you see my dusky skin
But not the face flashing a million smiles

I know you see my ungainly trot
Not that I’m off to help a friend
I know you notice my bad scrawls
But not all the happy, friendly letters I send

I know you see that I am awkward
But not that I dare and care
I know you see I shout slogans
But not that at night, I say a quiet prayer

You are so busy judging me
That you’ve no time left to know me
You’re so happy tearing me apart
And with you, most will agree

I am a nobody for you, I realize
And quite glad for it, really
Because if I become a somebody for you
I’d be a nobody left for me to see!

10 Comments

  1. Tata said,

    July 1, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Very very good.

  2. Sujit said,

    July 1, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Very nice! Natural and candid!

  3. laasya said,

    July 1, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Aha. Reminiscent of discussions bygone? :> Nice, flows well. Is blogging a thesis writing break? :>

  4. SHAMIT said,

    July 1, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Woah! My head is spinnin … ! The last para was supra-logical. šŸ˜€

  5. Ramkumar said,

    July 2, 2008 at 9:29 am

    I take a bow (and an arrow, and pucture a cardioid clearly missing the letters on either sides :P)

  6. Pritesh said,

    July 2, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks a lot Tata! šŸ™‚

    Thanks Sujit, your compliment means a great deal!

    And Laas, yes indeed. It springs from the discussion bygone. And yeah! it IS a break from writing thesis! šŸ™‚

    And Shamit, I hope your head’s ok now! šŸ˜€

    And Ram! Stop being cheap!!! šŸ˜€

  7. Parvathy said,

    July 3, 2008 at 12:56 am

    I like this one! šŸ™‚

  8. Pritesh said,

    July 9, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Thanks Parvathy! šŸ™‚

  9. Munmun said,

    December 1, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    “Because if I become a somebody for you
    Iā€™d be a nobody left for me to see!”
    I wish everyone realized that.
    Truly enjoyed your writing. I wish I could do so myself!

  10. Sujatha N Swamy said,

    July 14, 2016 at 7:41 am

    Super ma’am…..loved each and every line…..u r awesome.


Leave a Reply

