Daddy

Oh Daddy, when I was a child
I could jump up into your lap
And tug at your hair
I could laugh at your stubble
And race my toy car on your nose
I could take your wallet
And laugh at why you have my photo there
I could tie your showlaces together
And watch you trip
I could tug at your arm
And get a candy for becoming quiet
I could wear my frock inside out
And you’d lovingly set it right
I could wear the shoe on the wrong foot
And you’d laugh at me
I could lie down and hear
All the fairies and dwarfs stories
Oh Daddy, why did I grow up?
This life is so distant from you
I have a world of my own
But my clouds don’t rain in your land
Your sun doesn’t shine in my world
My roots are left behind on your planet
You gave me wings and I flew
But the flight took me so far away
I wish I could trade those times
For this life, this world
For a giggle in Daddy’s lap
Is so much more than anything I know
Daddy, take me in your arms again
And tell me that I’m still your little girl
Tell me that I can giggle at your jokes
And that I can cry when I fall
That I can still tug at your finger
For showing you my first drawing
That I can still splash around in the bathtub
Not heeding your warnings
Daddy, why did I grow up?
Take these wings away
Give me my roots back!
Come back to me Daddy………..

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Daddy………….

6 Comments

  1. Tata said,

    May 10, 2008 at 7:44 am

    I too feel the same way – especially when down with illness or sorrow. The child life keeps coming back ti me again and again – and I dream of that life even when awake!!!

  2. Ananth said,

    May 10, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Really nice! I love the poetic beauty as well as the emotion associated with it. It is really difficult to combine the two, which you have done so well!!

  3. SHAMIT said,

    May 10, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    This is so wonderfully expressed, Pritesh! The sincerity and emotions in the form of poetry will move any reader. Great poetry, keep it up!!!

  4. Karthik said,

    May 11, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    nice one Pritesh !!!Heartfelt and simple, without being simplistic! liked
    ‘But my clouds don’t rain in your land
    Your sun doesn’t shine in my world’

  5. Sujit said,

    May 12, 2008 at 10:02 am

    This life is so distant from you
    I have a world of my own
    But my clouds don’t rain in your land
    Your sun doesn’t shine in my world
    My roots are left behind on your planet
    You gave me wings and I flew
    But the flight took me so far away
    I wish I could trade those times

    Nice!

    Take these wings away
    Give me my roots back!

    Nice! 🙂

  6. Pritesh said,

    May 15, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Thanks a lot Tata. I can totally understand how you must feel!

    Thank you Shamit. I DID feel it very strongly when I wrote it. I forgot about this one for some time and remembered it only a few days ago.

    Thanks Ananth! 🙂

    Thanks Karthik. I do hope I can be on upward slope of quality of writing. 🙂

    Thank you Sujit. I so felt the emotion that I didn’t edit the post even once. It’s as I wrote, the first prototype! 🙂

    Thank you all so much for taking the time out and posting your comments….


Leave a Reply

