Roots

I lie here, my roots gone
My flowers wilted and dry
My branches on the ground
The axe rudely stuck in my thigh

I have been uprooted
To make way for the progress
I have been uprooted
And made to change my address

The stump you see there
Was my home, my dwelling
This corner is all I have now
After they’re done with expelling

Gone are the days when
My branches smiled in the sun
The lie limp and dead now
A cruelty that can’t be undone

Gone are the days when
My flowers swayed in the wind
I’ve been felled mercilessly
My tender body skinned

These bruises will never heal
My branches will never sway
My roots no longer nourish me
Of human desire, I am the prey!

(Laas, this one’s to you. Couldn’t get that move from house to apartment out of my mind, made me think of how I’d have felt if I’d been subject to that. Almost like a loss of sense of identity, like I’d been uprooted)

4 Comments

  1. Tata said,

    April 23, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Fantastic, indeed!

  2. Laasya said,

    April 23, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Pritz,
    Firstly Thanks!!I like this best of your poems for the flow. V smooth, can’t feel any hitches. I was somehow moved most by ‘A cruelty that cant be undone’..very well written. And yes, a sense of absoluteness is the worst part of destruction. Like the anger thing we were debating, at least this tree has produced a poem! Haveli bahut yaad aati hai, again ..

  3. Karthik said,

    April 24, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Very well written Pritesh! I too thought the key line was ‘a cruelty that can’t be undone’.

  4. Shamit said,

    April 27, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Hey great one! Your poetry is in great flow. 🙂


Leave a Reply

