Library in the living room

Scene 1:

I went to a friend’s house. The living room had HUGE racks full of books, on a range of topics………neatly arranged. I was impressed! I love books! And a collection like THIS? I’d be glad to be a robber and rob these!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Scene 2:

I go to another friend’s house, known for collecting books. I see no racks, no neatly arranged books! I wear a puzzled look! I ask for a particular book. I’m given a cursory glance, “Give me a pen drive” is thrown at me. I hand over a pen drive. In seconds, I have the book, oops……..the E-BOOK! The racks are missing, and so is the feeling of thumbing through yellowed out pages. Curling up in a blanket with a book is replaced with sitting in front of a laptop to read the E-book!

Do I approve of it? No

Do I have a choice? No

Am I stone-aged? Maybe…………maybe, I am stone-aged…………

5 Comments

  1. Neha said,

    March 26, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    SO TRUE ! πŸ™‚
    Here, we have text books online…. I hate reading it on the laptop (no choice because then I have to spend $ to get the hard copy). It takes all the fun out of reading and learning 😦 Hate it hate it hate it !

  2. SHAMIT said,

    March 27, 2008 at 10:22 am

    I don’t like e-books either unless when it is a necessity say reports and docs etc. Had once read Bram Stoker’s ‘Dracula’ from start to end – never again … πŸ™‚

  3. SHAMIT said,

    March 27, 2008 at 10:23 am

    And thats why you need to buy gadgets such as Amazon’s Kindle or Sony Reader with e-ink technology …

  4. Tata said,

    March 27, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    You are right. e-books? I hate.

  5. Laas said,

    March 28, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Tell me when, robber :> But while I totally agree (of course :>)..must say some e-books have done an amazing job of reviving out of print literature..though the final step would be to regenerate hard copies.I hope, I hope.


Leave a Reply

