Regrets

Oh! Is it really that the sun is setting?

Or I am imagining the play of colours?

I can see the yellow turn orange and orange, red

And I join the wagon of mullers

.

Someone! Stop the sun, No, don’t go

I am not quite ready for the sunset

I have things to do and say and see

My cup of sunshine isn’t brimming yet

.

I haven’t yet rocked the cradles

Held the tiny fingers, sung lullabies

I haven’t yet put my head in Mom’s lap

And said my teary Goodbyes

.

I haven’t gazed at the raindrops

Haven’t heard the whispers of the breeze

Haven’t seen flowers unfold

Haven’t marvelled at the humming bees

.

Oh there’s so much to be done

To be seen and felt and adored

I don’t want a sunset full of regrets

I want to do now, all that I ignored

………………………………………………………….

This poem formed in my mind when I once had a conversation about what my regrets are in life. Knowing how fragile life is (I am not sure I’ll be alive next instant), regrets aren’t something I would like to carry with me! Live life this instant, who knows something you don’t do today will be a regret forever………….

(My thanks to Ananth and Laasya for being of tremendous help while I was thinking up metaphors for this post)

7 Comments

  1. Tata said,

    March 16, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Good – Good

  2. Ananth said,

    March 16, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Great Effort! You have used the metaphors rather well! The best one is the ‘cup of sunshine’ Absolutely beautiful!

  3. SHAMIT said,

    March 16, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Havent read a poem like this – the verses are still sinking in , very ‘unique’ and of course good is a constant comment! It is also reminiscent of Kabir’s doha: ‘Kal Kare So Aaj Kar…’ and yes it portrays hope that often is the only thing that man clings to.

  4. Prajna said,

    March 17, 2008 at 9:50 am

    wow very good. Pritesh di I like u.

  5. Pritesh said,

    March 17, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Once again, Karthik’s not able to post comments, so here goes his…..

    Good poem Pritesh ! nice thoughts. Though I did feel one stanza was rather cliched/inappropriate – ‘haven’t gazed at the raindrops’ one.
    Live life this instant – COMPLETELY agree with that !

  6. Pritesh said,

    March 17, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Thanks everyone, for dropping by and commenting! 🙂 It means a great deal…….

  7. laasya said,

    March 17, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    You know, just as a poem I would say you can do way better, but seen as communicating a message its completely succesful! I liked the cradle verse best :> touched me.


Leave a Reply

