I’m just a tiny lamp

The Sun shines brightly all day

Bathing the world in its glory

Only when the dusk falls

It’s my turn to tell a story

.

I’m just a tiny little lamp

With a small hut for calling my own

The old battered man for companion

A recess in the wall for a throne

.

I can never be the sun, fiery and majestic

And may not be the life giver

But in my tiny world, I rule

I bring brightness, I deliver

.

I live my life with a smile on my face

For might is not in how big you get

It lies in what you do with what you have

In making pearls from every drop of sweat………………..

.

(This post is thanks to a discussion I had about the deteriorating situation of the green cover in the city, country and the world. As individuals, we probably can’t be policy makers, or policy changers, but if all of us contributed in our small ways, the world will soon and surely become a much better place to live in)

10 Comments

  1. Sujit said,

    February 29, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Pritesh! Excellent poetry. Wonderfully put. Nice and natural metaphors. Hats off to you!

  2. SHAMIT said,

    February 29, 2008 at 10:40 am

    “A recess in the wall for a throne”
    Awesome poetry, lady!

  3. Tata said,

    February 29, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Very Gooooooooooooooooooood!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Tata said,

    February 29, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Very Gooooooooooooooooooood!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. DDey said,

    February 29, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Brilliant Pritesh! Keep up the deep, good thoughts! πŸ™‚

  6. Prajna said,

    February 29, 2008 at 11:18 am

    oh my dear tiny little lamp, ya its u r turn to tell a story as I only to sit and listen from u!!!!!!!!!!!Love u.

  7. KRSP said,

    February 29, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Good one. The beginning has a real great punch.
    Keep it on.
    KRSP

  8. Ananth said,

    February 29, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Now thats a really nice poem!! I loved the lines
    “But in my tiny world, I rule
    I bring brightness, I deliver”
    and
    “In making pearls from every drop of sweat”

    This peom has one of the best natural flow, compared to your others.

  9. Pritesh said,

    March 3, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Well, considering that I value my feedback, here are two of my friends’ feedback who couldn’t post it, for some reason:

    Karthik’s:

    Unable to post comments on your blog for some strange reason , so here they go –

    Impressive poem Pritesh ! I second Ananth. Also particularly liked ‘A recess in the wall for a throne’ . Way to go !

    cheers
    Karthik

    Laasya’s:

    Read the poem- here goes ‘critical me’ :>
    Firstly, certainly liked it. The spirit gets across, which I always find important.But do think some of the additional frills like ‘old man for a companion’ and the hut thing took away a teeny bit..as in, it was simple and direct without those slightly cliched additions.
    Loved the ‘might is not in how big..’ and the fiery and majestic words..fitted very well.
    The two lines you’ve added after the poem certainly help, too. I think you can do loads better, tho. keep it going! :>

  10. Pritesh said,

    March 3, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    And now, my reply to you all:

    Thanks a lot Sujit. It certainly means a lot to me that you appreciated what I wrote………

    Thanks Shamit! πŸ™‚

    And thank you Tata (thank you AGAIN) πŸ™‚

    Thank you DDey, means a lot that you dropped by and posted your feedback! πŸ™‚

    And thanks Prajna………will come over some time to your room and discuss more about this…..

    Thanks KRSP…….

    And Ananth, special thanks to you! For always being that critic whom I can bank on, no matter how well or badly I write! πŸ™‚

    Thanks a lot Karthik. waiting for more coming from you on your post!

    And Laas, thanks for bring honest. I totally agree that I should probably have cut down on the cliched. Will try more next time and ya, would like to have a “Nesara discussion” over a masala chai! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

