Manifestation of subdued depression

Scene: IISc Health Centre
People: Yours truly and a Doctor (that I shall refrain from naming here) referred to as Dr here

Dr: So, what’s the problem?
Me: I have been suffering from headaches, migraine kind, quite frequently of late
Dr: How frequently?
Me: About once in 2-3 days. Sometimes, almost daily.
Dr: Oh, poor you. Do U eat regularly?
Me: Yes, not in the mess though. But I do eat.
Dr: Do you have a boyfriend?
Me: (taken aback) No. (I didn’t have one back then)
Dr: It’s ok. If you have one, you can tell me. I won’t tell anyone.
Me: But I don’t HAVE one (I’d to emphasize, I suppose I don’t come across as someone who could stay single :D)
Dr: It’s quite all right. Relationships do make people depressed.
Me: Maybe, but I’m not in one.
Dr: Do your parents fight?
Me: (this time genuinely shocked) Not that I know of. (I mean, even if they do, I’m too grown up to be depressed about THAT)
Dr: Is your work going well?
Me: Yes, exceptionally well.
Dr: Are you depressed?
Me: No. I’m an unusually happy person. I laugh and am happy almost always.
Dr: Hmmm (she looked like she understood everything about my past, present and future). I think you should surround yourself with happy people.
Me: All my friends are almost as jolly as I am. We all are chronic laughter sufferers.
Dr: Do you laugh a great deal too?
Me: Ya, all the time.
Dr: I think that’s a manifestation of subdued depression
Me: (aghast this time) What?
Dr: It happens. I suggest you go away from IISc, go home. And come back after some time. You’ll be fine.
Me (to myself, IĀ  could’ve been told this much earlier)

I just couldn’t stop laughing after this rendezvous! I had a brush with the same doctor recently again where I was diagnosed with appendicitis, colon cancer, stomach lining infection (even managed to ask me if I vomited blood!!!!!!!!!!!!) when all I had was a mild case of indigestion! šŸ˜€ Hail IISc Health Centre!

PS: Forgot to add, in the end (when I was released from the Health Centre, after two-three bottles of saline and uncountable injections), the doctor said, I think you had a bad attack of headacheless migraine! (I think the doctor lost me completely at that moment!!!!!!!!!!!)

5 Comments

  1. JJ said,

    February 12, 2008 at 11:39 am

    LOL ! I know whom you’re talking about… had a similar experience.

  2. Shamit said,

    February 12, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Ha haa haaaa …. Can relate to this. Something similar had happened to me too.

  3. Abi said,

    February 12, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    A long time ago, one of the doctors there (he retired sometime ago) suggested an X-ray of my head “just to ensure that there was no tumour lurking in there somewhere.” All I complained about was sinusitis.

    But your doctor seems to be truly special!

    Subdued depression? LOL!

  4. Pritesh said,

    February 12, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Well JJ, I don’t think THAT was hard to guess! She overreacts so majorly, everyone knows about it by now! šŸ˜€

    And Shamit, the world truly has similar people all over! šŸ˜€

    And Abhinandan, there is this friend of mine who was diagnosed with a benign tumour with JUST a small lump at the base of her head! šŸ˜€

  5. February 24, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    First time here, passed out of IISc a few years ago.

    Let me guess, Dr. S******? She diagnosed me with Irritable Bowel Syndrome after my first week at C Mess.


Leave a Reply

