Betraying eyes

Your soul sneaks out of your eyes
And enters mine in disguise
I know that your smile is a fake
A small price for the choices you make

The diamonds glitter as you sway
But your eyes give you away
The silks trail you, shining and long
But it sounds like an expensive sad song

I can see through the happy talk
I see the sad gait as you walk
You cling to his arm but I know
He is the thief of your eyes’ glow

Have you forgotten how beautiful it was
When you and I laughed together, alas
You moved off saying fame was what you sought
But I can see that it’s unhappiness you bought

This is not quite the girl I knew
Throw off this facade and be the real you
Be yourself before it becomes too late
Make your choice, don’t call it Fate

(A poem I wrote back in College, on Sept. 12th 1998. Hunted it out of my diary)

7 Comments

  1. Sujit said,

    January 22, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Hey! Good one! Brings to mind the short story I recently wrote in Hindi (wait for it to come online). 🙂

  2. Ananth said,

    January 22, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Very apt!!

  3. SHAMIT said,

    January 22, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Much more powerful than any of your writings that I have read.
    Quite raw and emotionally charged!

  4. Pritesh said,

    January 22, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    An ode to oneself!

  5. Pritesh said,

    January 22, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Thanks Sujit, really looking forward to reading the story. Do send a link…….

    Thanks Ananth

    And thanks Shamit…………..was just a thought when I penned it down long time ago……….

  6. Tata said,

    January 23, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Good – the original and the comments!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Pritesh said,

    January 23, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Thank you Tata


Leave a Reply

