Fading into oblivion

The dust of my star sparkles

Death is imminent but who will kill me?

My ambers are fading away

But who will douse the fire in me?

 

My ambers have kindled many a fire

Have touched many lives with their warmth and glow

My star has burnt bright for long

Guiding many a walkers through grass and rain and snow

 

All around me remains as it was

Merry, bountiful, splendid

But my star and my ambers are dying

Unnoticed, unguarded, untended…..

 

As weeds grow under my feet

I look up at the sky and see

My star fading into oblivion

My ambers lying among the ashes peacefully

 

A star is a star indeed

Till it glitters and shines

And one day each star fades too

Slowly, with unheard whines

 

I wish the world was fairer

And a star could die in grace

And not fade into oblivion

A black, dark, lonely place…………..

6 Comments

  1. Tata said,

    October 30, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Keep it up

  2. SHAMIT said,

    October 30, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Lovely.

    From that star dust shall arise,
    Several others stars again … !!

  3. Pritesh said,

    October 30, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    Thanks Tata!

    And Shamit, now that is a very Phoenix thought. 🙂

  4. Neha said,

    October 30, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Good job ! 🙂

  5. Charles said,

    October 31, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    five stars!

  6. Bhargavi said,

    November 4, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Very bitter. But beautifully written! Every permanence is transient, in some sense or another.. what strikes me most at this point is that we humans make such amazing imagery of everything! yet, we ourselves dont know the place we hold in this complex maze of reality and imagination..


Leave a Reply

