Sand grains in my fist

Sand grains in my fist

As I watch the sunset
I close my fist over sand
And pick up some of it
The setting sun casts a glow
I see the sand burn red and gold in my hand
The little grains fight to break free
I clench my fist
And watch the grains flow out
One deriving strength from another
They follow each other
Back to where they belonged
I clench my fist harder
But sand fights back
Flowing past my fingers faster
And then, I opened my palm
Almost all the sand was gone
Some stray grains clung on
To the beads of perspiration on my palm
I was suddenly reminded
Of the times when everyone left me
Some still remained, clung to me
For the beads of perspiration was true love
And faith and trust for them
It kept them to me
I smiled and got up
To walk back to those
Who stayed with me, through hard times
I knew I owed them one
For being there…….for just being there……….

(Dedicated to Rumz πŸ™‚ )

3 Comments

  1. Vinod Kumar B G said,

    October 27, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    πŸ™‚

  2. Tata said,

    October 28, 2007 at 5:56 am

    Lovely!

  3. Pramod said,

    October 30, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Good one again!


Leave a Reply

