No one wants a broken shell

No one wants a broken shell
For there are many that are far prettier
As I lay on the shore waiting
For someone to notice me and pick me up
No one turns up as I lie here all day
And I go on and on, waiting

Then, there came this little girl
As pretty as a picture
She ran towards me and looked at me
With her eyes widened with amazement
I felt a pride, a never before thing
And almost bloated with it

She hollered to her Mommy
Mommy, come, look………see what I found
A shell….A SHELL, she screamed
And there was no limit to my happiness
Someone finally came and picked ME up
And I was going to me made into something

Maybe a showpiece, or simply, will sit on the mantelpiece
But such was my luck
That none of it could come true
Her Mom came and said, Ah baby….
This is a broken shell
It has no beauty and no symmetry

Just look, the edges are chipped
And the colour faded
This shell is no use, it’s a broken one
The little girl nodded and threw me back
And said aloud, broken shells are no beauty
And walked on, in search of a better one

I suppose, she will, someday, teach her girl too
Broken shells don’t have beauty
And it will go on
I will be here forever, unless some wave comes
And returns me to where I came from
But alas, no one wants me there too

NO ONE wants a broken shell………………..

(as I walked along the Surathkal beach, I picked up many shells that were not so pretty and I promptly threw them back. So, I suppose I could thank the Surathkal beach for giving me the idea for this post)

7 Comments

  1. Pramod said,

    October 23, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    Good one…nice thoughts…and well written.

  2. Pritesh said,

    October 23, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks Pramod! 🙂

  3. Sujit Kumar Chakrabarti said,

    October 23, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    May all broken shells lie ignored and unnoticed forever. For it’s better than being pitied and picked up for their ugliness.
    We all have our glittery side. We all have our jagged edges. We all are broken shells. But let’s never wish that someone sees our broken side and pities us. Let’s just pray that some one sees our glittery side and picks us up for that. Or perhaps, even better, someone comes and says spontaneously: ‘Wow! What a beautiful broken shell!’
    Even brokenness has its beauty. It needs an eye to see it. 🙂
    Good thought.

  4. Tata said,

    October 24, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Briken shells like me deserve to be thrown back. …… but broken as I am, I am still around – waiting for the time for me to be thrown out

  5. SHAMIT said,

    October 26, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    This is a very well composed poem. But it sounds awfully painful …
    However I have to admit, we all feel like broken shells sometime or the other, unwanted, uncared for – but note there is some one or the other who always cares, maybe the sand or the sea or even the wind … 🙂

  6. Pritesh said,

    October 27, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    Karthik’s (http://jkathikr.blogspot.com) comment (he’s not able to add it):

    Someday, someone on shore, will not just look at the shell, but also listen to it. It will probably reflect the music in wind far better than a ‘perfect’ shell would. And then both will be happy – the shell and the listener. Beauty lies not just in the eyes of the beholder. Beauty lies in eyes/ears/…. of the beholder.
    Nice poem Pritesh! Nice thoughts.

    MY reply……..

    I totally agree Karthik!

  7. Bhargavi said,

    November 4, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    Lovely poem! It actually made me sad, its so true..


Leave a Reply

