Rachel’s Journal

I can’t thank Mr. Ahuja enough for transporting me to this wonderful world of childhood through this cute little book called Rachel’s Journal. More than the book, it was the simplicity of thoughts of the child who must’ve written it that struck me……..and YET AGAIN, I was forced to think.

The book is a little girl’s journal whose parents are moving  from one part of America to another along with two other families, five bachelor men and about 100 cattle. Now, one would think WHAT is so extraordinary about this journal? In fact, nothing. There is NOTHING outstanding. What struck me was the effect of the commonplace!

Without getting into playing with words, let me give you and example of what I’m talking about. This girl Rachel has written a journal in a book gifted to her by her grandfather. She writes on the pages as most of us will do, in the ruled spaces. But sometimes, she forgets to add some things. And how does she accommodate them? She writes them all over the place in the margins! 😀 It has such childish simplicity to it that I was almost in tears! The child has actually swatted a mosquito in her book and next to the dried mosquito, there’s a note. “Just like flowers, there are a lot of mosquitoes in the Prairie. I even swatted one. It has been bothering me for some time now”. I couldn’t suppress a laughter that lasted until I again had tear filled eyes.

To describe the families travelling with hers, she has written no fancy words. Instead, she has drawn simple human figures and has added their characteristics in brackets next to their names.  Mrs. So and So, wife of Mr. So and So (she behaves like a scared mouse all the time, I think she’s scared of her father-in-law)!!!

I remembered the time when I had such simple notions about people. When Mummy wouldn’t give me extra chocolate, I hated her. When Bhaiya will let me ride his bicycle, he was God. When Daddy took me for a ride on scooter to the neighbourhood market, he was the BEST Dad. Oh! How life changes and we learn these complicated things such as, I may be angry with you now, but I still love you…….childhood was so simple, so hassle-free!

Reminds me of one quote I came across a long time ago – When I die, I’ll ask God, why didn’t he make growing up optional?

Rachel’s journal brought back to me all that was beautiful, simple and straightforward! How I wish I could go back in time and relive those moments of childhood, those ‘precious’ little moments!!!!!

3 Comments

  1. Prachee said,

    August 21, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Good thoughts… Well lets not forget how we thought that once we grow up will do this and that!!(majorly when things din’t go our way) and how we felt all these grown ups are so priviliged. Grass is always greener on other side is probably the best way to describe human nature. !!!

  2. Ananth said,

    August 21, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    I guess, we still retain the option of being child-like (not childish) and keeping life simple. Actually it requires quite a bit of thought to keep life simple.

  3. Ahuja said,

    August 23, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Strangely i picked up the book from a push cart vendor in Malleswaram for ten bucks but to me the book is worth it’s weight in gold. I remember my Teacher in the Journalism class giving us this QUOTE: “KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid)…….that way you will understand what you write”. Thank you Rachael and Pritesh…..


Leave a Reply

