Being in team Rhythmica……….ahhhh

If I was asked to talk about my experiences in Rhythmica, I could go on and on! Essentially endlessly…….but I will refrain from a rather lengthy account. This one is about the ‘essence’ of all those experiences. I have wanted to write this blog for an eternity, but got around to doing it only now, when I realize that my stint with Rhythmica may soon come to an end (with Sujju giving his last performance, it’s time I finished too)…….

Being in Rhythmica is like being on a constant high out of ‘awe’! (well, that was rather short for my experiences, but this IS the crux). This team is SO WELL endowed with talent (of all kinds) that sometime is amazes me as to what the hell am “I” doing here! Right from my first day in Rhythmica, one thing that never ceases to surprise me is the creative ability of the group (both individually and collectively). Right from designing that FIRST logo of Rhythmica (in July 2002) to propping that background up (in August 2007), Rhythmica has been a source of constant amazement, at least to me.

It’s overwhelming to see so many people, each a genius in his or her own right, coming together, stringed together with this ONE thread, MUSIC. And this ONE thread unites them so well, that if I have close friends to boast of, they almost exclusively are Rhythmicans.

Now, Rhythmica did start as an amateurish group, but the degree of professionalism in the team (ever increasing) currently parallels what I have seen in many professional performers. Now, everyone sees a totally united, disciplined and talented Rhythmica performing on stage. What about before and after the program? Well, I start giggling the moment I think of those times. Rhythmica is a bunch of complete clowns when left to themselves. Music apart, everyone has a funny bone (many have more! :D).

So, it’s a constant circus during the practice sessions. The light moments are interjected with those intense moments where everyone is focused completely on what they’re playing/singing. The energy is contagious!! It gets to you. Everyone’s quest for putting forth their BEST brings out the best in everyone. The songs are rehearsed, re-rehearsed, fine-tuned……….the process goes on and on until just before the program starts.

The audience come, watch the program and go. But what remains behind is a TEAM that gels so well. True, any group is likely to have disagreements and Rhythmica HAS had a fair share of it. But in spite of all that, the TEAM stands a good 30 odd strong. The mutual admiration of group members, the humility, the passion for Music, the desire to outperform oneself is so overwhelming at times, that I feel like folding my hands and thanking God for making ME a part of this jerk-gang! πŸ˜€

Well, Sujju will say, bahut ho gaya senti. Ab bas kar! πŸ˜€

So, I shall wind up! But all I’ll say is that I HAVE TO THANK Rhythmica for a lot of things. Great friends, great lessons in team-work, patience, hard-work, creativity, disaster management (directly and indirectly :D)……….and lots more………..and lots lots more………….

4 Comments

  1. Neha said,

    August 16, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    πŸ™‚

  2. karthik said,

    August 19, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    I second Neha πŸ™‚

  3. JJ said,

    August 22, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    I second.. I second Neha πŸ™‚

  4. February 6, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    ~:’ that seems to be a great topic, i really love it ‘.”


Leave a Reply

