Dhanyawad

“Dhanyawad”, came a hesitant reply to my broken “Danke Schuen”! It was MY turn to get thrown off balance! And this came from someone who has not been to India, stays in a not-so-metropolitan town of Germany and is not in touch with any Hindi speaking Indian! Stephan took me off guard and before I could erase that surprised expression off my face, he explained sheepishly, “I heard this in a Harrison Ford movie where an Indian girl says thanks to him”………welcome to the world of Global media. If I were to be told that MOVIES can teach someone something useful, I wouldn’t believe it! But this Dhanyawad bowled me over! 🙂

2 Comments

  1. karthik said,

    February 25, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    Guess hearing our language abroad feels really good! In general i
    think if anyone who’s not familiar with a language makes an effort
    to speak in that, it sounds good.

  2. Pritesh said,

    February 28, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    I think I completely agree Karthik!!!! But trust me, MOVIES teaching someone something was news to me!!!!!!! 😀


Leave a Reply

