Superman’s dreams

I fight, I win, I save, I fly

Everything really, but alas, I can’t cry

Misery of the world is knocking at my door

And I want to be alone, lying on the floor

I crave to be normal, to be one among you

But alas, my dream can’t come true

I want to run along a beach

To be far away from the world’s reach

I want to eat an apple sitting on my window

Watching the setting sun’s fading glow

I want to drink coffee on Sunday noons

And want to see the lazy full moons

I want to scream when I’m upset

And commit mistakes and regret

I want to bang my fists in rage

Want to live the book, page by page

I want to be unknown and merge in the crowd

And want to sometimes cry out loud
World beckons, again I have to fly

I can do everything but CRY………

(PS: This poem of mine is deeply related to expectations from achievers. People around expect success to be a constant from achievers. I’m often asked “How come this Art piece of yours isn’t as good as the previous one?”. And then, I think to myself, have I become abnormal? Don’t I have a right to err? Or to be not the BEST always? I’m taught not to bother about what people say. But isn’t it only natural that you wonder???)

3 Comments

  1. Prasanna said,

    October 19, 2006 at 10:35 am

    This is something that I think I realised a long time ago when I was a kid, and now believe it or not, its ingrained in my psyche in ways that sometimes I too dont comprehend and i now end up living life making sure there are no expectations and if beyond all this, ppl do expect, then to hell with their expectations !!

  2. October 19, 2006 at 2:45 pm

    Hi! Prasanna, I agree that living without expectations from oneself is a very tough way of living………but when these expectations become a deterrent, life’s hell. We behave in a way because we aren’t supposed to be any other way! It’s restrictive and sometimes, even suffocating…….

  3. Ananth said,

    November 1, 2006 at 12:42 pm

    I like this!!! So its better to come second always isn’t it??


Leave a Reply

