A Nation Without Women

I planned to watch this movie titled, “A Nation Without Women” some time
back. Somehow that never happened. I heard people praising it, whoever
watched it told me this was ONE HELL OF A RELEVANT movie.

But then, some people told me, this no longer happens. Women are no longer
treated like THAT! And I think I did convince myself to a great degree
that maybe, it is too drastic a representation of the condition of women
in India……

And then, I stumbled upon this inconspicuous looking article, titled
“Reality Check” in Sunday Magazine of The Hindu. Since I was home and had
time to kill, I decided to read it……..and I was in for a surprise!!!!

The article was about the fifty female fetuses found dumped in a well in
Karnataka. I could no longer sustain the thoughts I’d had about the
situation of women in India! Because these were not women the paper was
talking about! These were BABIES who weren’t even allowed to be
born!!!!!!! They were killed before they could even see the light of the
day!!!!!!!

And the article went on and on about some SHOCKING attitudes of people in
Punjab and Haryana. The one that sprang out was “Raising a daughter is
like watering a plant in neighbour’s yard”……….and I didn’t know who
to blame for such a thought……the system, the mothers, the people, the
ignorance at large?????????

5 Comments

  1. Sujit Kumar Chakrabarti said,

    September 7, 2006 at 12:33 pm

    The trick would perhaps be not into going into the blaming business at all.

    On the other hand, I don’t think there’s any use denying that the condition is there, very much. But I feel, like poverty and employment, this problem is inseparably entwined with the problem of education and awareness. It will go, slowly. I doubt if it will be irradicated. There are just too many people on this planet. And at all times at least some of them always manage to escape all attempts of their emancipation from ignorance. Spreading positive awareness is one good thing we all are in a position to do. In the least, we must be patient and wait for the gradual changes to take effect.

    Blaming anybody directly is one thing we must all stop wasting our energies in.

  2. September 7, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    I agree Sujit, the changes shall be slow and gradual. But here, we’re talking about FIFTY dead babies who weren’t even born!!!!!! Don’t know about you, but it angers ME a great deal………..

  3. Vinod said,

    September 7, 2006 at 4:17 pm

    Its horrible!!!!!!!!!
    Its the greedyness of the people which tempts them to do such deeds. Even educated people do such activities 😦

  4. Bhargavi said,

    October 7, 2006 at 2:01 pm

    I guess all this goes back to centuries of such insane practices in our country..I did think the situation was becoming better, based on what i’ve heard about the past and what i see happening around me today..but now i dont know what to say!

  5. October 11, 2006 at 7:02 pm

    Hi! Bhargavi, it’s true that all this seems to belong in some other century, some other world!!!! But the harsh truth is that this is very much HERE, right in the middle of us all……….and education is changing things too slowly……


Leave a Reply

