Is this the same nation, the same people, eh?

Hi!

I’m returning after a LONG time but then, I guess I was boring everyone a
little too much with writing so often! (In reality, I was off circuit
because of this stupid UPA ban on blogging sites, one of the most
illogical decisions I have ever heard of)

And this time when I have come back, I have things to write about a very
touchy thing (that has always been close to my heart nevertheless):
Barriers of religion, caste, region etc…….

I was home the weekend of 23th July and I was unfortunate enough to
witness the live feeds from a 55 feet deep ditch in Kurukshetra where a 5
(turned six on 24th July) year old kid had fallen and was stuck for almost
53 hours. ALL the news channels were sending live feeds from the site and
there was no stone left unturned (literally and figuratively) to pull the
unfortunate kid out. Army, locals, special squad from Mumbai…….you
name it and they were there to save the child. And the news channels were
asking for messages/calls from the viewers praying for the child’s safe
home-coming.

And while I helplessly watched the child crying in the small pit, I heard
those messages coming in. I heard people praying for the child. I saw
telecasts from temples, churches, gurudwaras, mosques, town squares,
streets where people forgot their religion, castes and prayed in unison!

The child did come home safely (though in trauma) abd all went well. But
what amazed me was the way the nation stood as one in praying for the
child. There were calls from NRIs from all parts of the world sending in
their prayers as well! And this only made me wonder!!! Where are the
people who kill each other in the name of religion? Where are the people
who rape women in the name of communal riots? Is this the same nation
where cities have curfews imposed because of riots over a statue being
disfigured? Is this the same country???
Or is it that those handful ones who choose to create ruckus have created
an impression in my mind which I am generalizing for the rest of the
secular ones? Am I wrong or they are? Why is it that when I fall down and
hurt myself, no one asks me whether I am a christian, or a Hindu or a
Muslim and the first thing they bother about is seeing to it that I get
first aid!!!! Is this the same place where people assit a blind person
across a road without asking him a question about his caste or religion??

And when I go to my village, a dalit is not allowed in my house as I am
the supposedly “upper caste”! Is this some other part of the nation? Or
this is one of those examples of Unity in Diversity? And more than the
reader of this blog, I am posing this question to myself! Do I even know
that there are answers to my questions????

Pritesh

1 Comment

  1. Sujit Kumar Chakrabarti said,

    August 4, 2006 at 12:28 pm

    More than anything else Pritesh,
    It’s a nation with ‘lots and lots’ of people! 🙂 It takes only a few millions (which is nothing to the our over billion population) to make a news (read ‘noise’).

    Nice article!
    Sujit


Leave a Reply

