This wave of strange things!!!!

I couldn’t help but write this blog which is bound to displease a lot of people, probably. But I had no choice! With SO MUCH happening around me, it’s hard to keep shut. I have been voicing my opinions off and on but this time, I am not really writing about an event in particular! It’s about the whole scenario of this day and age, in general……

What exactly is happening to this country? Why are we treading backwards? What’s this uproar about? Whatever has happened to the collective conscious of the country?

On one had, the reservation issue! I don’t think there’s anything left for ME to say! All that is there to be said has already been said. And coming from me, an OBC according to the list Government has, this sounds strange. But I’m not alone. I REFUSE to avail of this facility!!!! Absolutely! And for those who are parroting away to glory saying that merit is nothing but lots of tutoring and stuff, I have never taken a tuition in my life. I did not study in a VERY fancy school. An ordinary Kendriya Vidyalaya (and I know many in IISc who have studied in Municipality schools in very rural areas of the country). There are many I know who were tea-stall bearers, boot polishers, part time shop keepers who have made it to the one of most premier Institutes in this country, IISc.

And what is this happening now? The country is going back to its pre-independence days when one’s identity was one’s caste and not one’s abilities. After a long time, the country has come to a juncture where the generation is oblivious to someone’s caste and religion. Inter caste and inter religion marriages are a reality after ages. People are moving over to the MORE IMPORTANT things like one’s ability, one’s determination……..and then, here comes one stab in the back of the nation. RESERVATION……..

And then, there’s this controversy surrounding Fanaa. The reason: Aamir Khan having expressed his views about something many people have a view about. Why is this that the country has forgotten that Aamir is not only a star! He’s a human being who has a RIGHT to think about issues and has every right to express them as well. And as if the banning of the film was not enough, his RELIGION has been made an issue. So, in this country, now a Muslim has no right to feel about an issue??? Tomorrow, a Christian may be banned from thinking about Narmada issue!!!!! What is this happening????

And then, I don’t have to go far. In our very own “progressive” Bangalore city, Bangalore University prohibits girls from sitting next to boys!!!!!! The vice-chancellor says that if sitting next to boys is what you called being progressive, then, it is NOT! Well, prohibiting something that you can’t stop anyway is not the way out! Will someone please tell these people that these archaic ideas died off with Adam and Eve???

Suddenly, this country seems to be in a grip of fanaticism! Religious, political, caste…….some extremisims are left! The day’s not far when these will come to picture as well…….I dread that day and as an (almost) silent onlooker, pray to God for saving the soul of this country…..

Pritesh

8 Comments

  1. Karthik said,

    May 31, 2006 at 12:03 am

    I guess there have always been fanatics in the country. Just that, of late, they are the ones who make the rules. If the right people are there at the top, I feel things will automatically change for the better.

  2. May 31, 2006 at 12:09 am

    Hm. Pritesh. It really worries me. And it really seems that worrying doesn’t help. We need to do something.

    But all these days, I thought I had a reason not to create a clamour about my social opinions. Especially with reference to the IISc campus, I have a strong opinion: THAT WE SHOULDN’T HAVE ANY STRONG OPINIONS! Be it regarding left-right, methods of researching and doing academics in general, womens’ issues, students’ issues and everything under the sun (and within the campus). I have always wanted that when it comes to intellectuals, they should be stoic while feeling about important issues, and balanced while expressing their thoughts.

    I also felt that we should have a strongly networked community of intellectuals who, perhaps, are not too noisy about their opinion, but, have their opinions all the same, and silently work towards them.

    Quite lamentably, I am slowing seeing it’s not possible not to have strong views, and also that my policy of not raising my voice isn’t really practical. For at least two reasons:
    * Society, and particularly politicians, give a damn to the thoughts of intellectuals.
    * Intellectuals themselves are quite equally vehemently divided as all other portions of the population are.

    I am not one of those who would therefore quickly change one’s policy, and would go marching ahead with banners in hands, and slogans on lips. I will wait and watch and worry and little more! 😦

    What to say!

  3. Pritesh said,

    May 31, 2006 at 12:19 am

    Well, actually, I belonged to that let me wait, watch and worry genre until recently Sujju. But then, I realized the futility of the same. The basic problem being that words like “intellect” and “intellectuals” are either ignored or not understood by the Policy makers.

    When some matriculate fail people make policies, one can understand flaws of this magnitude, but when the policy makers are PhDs (like Manmohan Singh and that vice Chancellor of BU), I’m forced to rethink. The Education is wasted and fanaticism takes over! And I sit wondering, WHERE ARE WE HEADING? And after reading you blog, I am beginning to think again about India’s newfound progress, both social and economical, are illusions that we like to live.

    The current set of events leaves me with no choice but to conclude that indeed, it was an illusion…..

  4. June 9, 2006 at 10:15 am

    this is some sensible thinking.. keep it up and please be LOUDER

  5. Pritesh said,

    June 12, 2006 at 8:49 am

    Thanks Amit……..I wish I knew how one can be louder and anyway, this is my space where I voice my opinions. Maybe, I’ll choose different fora to be heard by a bigger audience……..

  6. sp said,

    June 22, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    Wish there were more sane people like you. The OBCs, SCs and STs nay the entire janata are getting shortchanged here. Instead of demanding quality education and teachers as their right, they are being asked to take the crutches of reservations. sigh…

    My take on the Aamir issue is totally different, something to be discussed perhaps over a cup of coffee at coffee board. 🙂

  7. Pritesh said,

    June 22, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Haha! Thanks SP. Well, I personally feel that Aamir Khan has to be given freedom to express HIS opinion, and for that matter, any individual has a right to express his/her view. So what if he’s a star! His professional life is separate and personal separate! I know that the argument would be that since he’s such a Public Figure, HIS opinion may influence many people who have no take over the issue, but then, if people get influenced by hearsay, Heaven help them……..

  8. sp said,

    June 23, 2006 at 9:24 am

    Well, every individual has a right to express his/her view. But equally so, he /she has to be ready to face the consequences of having that opinion too.
    The Guj Govt didnt imprison him for his utterances, did they? Even the janata in gujarat have a right to say they dont want to watch his movies since they dont share his opinion. They are exercising their freedom of expression and opinion.
    🙂 The govt didnt ban the movie, mind you.

    PS : I liked Fanaa !


Leave a Reply

