Teacher……..a role really underestimated

Hi!!!! All,

I studied all my life in Kendriya Vidyalayas (the very renowned Central Schools run by the Indian Government). And due to the frequent transfers of my father, I studied in quite a few of them. These schools generally follow a set of rules that stay the same over the country. The idea probably is to not shock the child when he/she changes schools. This is a very good concept and it did help me a great deal. I didn’t have to really adjust too much as I switched schools. But there was one thing that stayed a constant across all the schools I studied in! LOUSY TEACHERS………

And as I grew up, I got to know (through talking to teachers) that all of them had tried their hands at something or the other before becoming teachers. This led me to understanding that most of the teachers were teachers not because they WANTED to be teachers but because they couldn’t be ANYTHING else! Almost NONE of them was a teacher out of choice. They were teachers because they didn’t HAVE a choice. I really has two choices then. I could become a BAD student and blame that upon my teachers’ bad teaching! Or I could develop a habit to study things myself and survive! I chose the latter. I did well, markswise but there was this nagging feeling always.

I kept asking myself as to WHY people didn’t want to teach. Why is it that a teacher’s job is looked down upon? Why is it that when you can’t become anything else (read an Engineer, Doctor, IAS etc.), you become a teacher. One shocking piece of survey I read said 76% parents don’t want their chidren to become teachers and 91% teachers do not want their children to become teachers!!!!

This really made me sit up and think! Do we even realize how important a teacher is in influencing a child???? There is this age where what the teacher’s word becomes final!! So much so that what the teachers say can’t be conflicted by even parents……….so, why are we so reluctant to become a teacher?

And the teachers play a very important role in the children’s choice of careers too (believe me, it’s true)…I was influenced by only ONE teacher in my life and he was the Chemistry teacher (and it is not a mere coincidence that I am in Chemistry). So, when this is such an important role in life, why do we consider becoming a teacher the LAST career choice? These are some questions that have led me to believe that I do want to be a teacher!!!! In some way, somewhere. I don’t quite know how and where, but I’d love to teach. So that I can make my share of contribution to shaping the young minds. 🙂

Pritesh

6 Comments

  1. February 27, 2006 at 9:25 am

    This post has been removed by the author.

  2. February 27, 2006 at 9:27 am

    Hi Prites,

    As you move up up up, I feel you will find more and more people who have been deeply influenced by their teachers, mostly at school. There’re more than one instance of people pursuing their PhD in CSA having chosen modestly paid school teaching jobs against fat salaries.

    I have always felt that teaching is one of the most fashionable things to do. In that you have the chance to become thorough with a logically complete body of knowledge and share your understanding with students. Over and above that there’s this continuous cognitive experiment that you can perform — year upon year — as to how best a piece of knowledge gets through the skull of the young people.

    I share your passion for teaching. Perhaps that’s not the least of the reasons why I start giving a lecture wherever I get a chance.

    OK. I will quiet up now! 😉

  3. Ajit said,

    February 27, 2006 at 7:02 pm

    There is this kind of KV near my house. En route to office every morning, I see the road totally packed with kids. Little kids with a small schoolbag and waterbag in hand, eager to enter the school.

    At times, they are so impatient that they just don’t look around while crossing the road! That must be some real good school 🙂

    I always loved my school: I remember I used to crib when for some reason I was made to bunk school!

    Teachers make a great impact at that age – only impact stronger than that is of course from parents.

    I see you have both these topics covered in successive posts 🙂

  4. fuse me said,

    March 1, 2006 at 11:50 am

    Hey I guess primary and secondary school teachers do create a huge impact on the lives of the children overall. Teachers higher up may influence the careers of students, but not as much (not always though) impact as the primary and secondary school teachers.

    Why they are more important is also because the impact they cause is never finally known by the students even after they grow up, where as the impact caused by the higher up teachers is understood by the students.

  5. Pritesh said,

    March 2, 2006 at 11:47 am

    I agree Ananth, but there is a serious dearth of teachers who CARE……..at primary level and secondary level. Since teaching isn’t out of CHOICE, they aren’t so involved in the job and somehow manage to just swim through….

  6. Karthik said,

    March 9, 2006 at 8:47 am

    Every subject is extremely interesting, when you get into it. I think,a child more often than not, ends up in the same field that his/her favourite teacher taught at school.From that perspective, its almost scary, the impact a bad science teacher can have on a child’s choice of profession.


Leave a Reply

