Colours mean something? Eh………..

Hi Peoples,

Well, the reason I had to start a new blog was that the old one was getting too big for opening and I had to exercise a great deal of patience to read my own blog!

So, I decided that it was far easier to start a new one!!!!!

This blog is what follows after observations about me that go this way, “You have a rather evolved colour sense”……I like to believe this. For an artist at heart, this is God of all compliments. I often questioned myself about my passion for bright colours. Not that I don’t like more toned down shades, but I prefer the brighter ones. Each bright colour makes me think of certain thing(s). And these emotions or rather thoughts make me think of combinations that either enhance or contradict the effect of the other colour. It’s an interesting phenomenon.

One place where this interplay of colours if of extreme importance is my rangolis (that happen about once in two months). When I start a Rangoli, I do have a concept in mind, at least, most of the times. There have been times when I have started making the rangoli with one theme in my mind but landed up making something entirely different but such things generally happen when I run out of some particular colour or something of that sort.

So, when I have a concept in my mind, it is BLACK AND WHITE. In other words, I start with a COLOURLESS concept in my mind. I do have a mental picture of proportions but no idea of what colours I’ll eventually use. Many a time, it has happened that I’ve changed the colour scheme of my rangolis after starting it too just because I met some friend who came up with a colour scheme that’s better than mine!

So, when I start with a colourless concept (I’m counting out black and white as COLOURS really), I start filling in colours in the rnagolis. There are two major factors that govern the colour scheme I opt for.

1. How well it contrasts with the neighbouring colours
2. How does it contribute to the overall feel of the rangoli

I don’t have a technical knowledge of opposite colours, so, I often land up using colours following my instinct and nothing else…….until about a week ago, I didn’t know that red is formally an opposite of green. I often use a lot of yellow, red and green in my rangolis. And this isn’t just because these colours contrast well with each other, but because they make me feel a certain way!

Colours have known to have an impact on how you feel! I think, colours really have a strong impact on me!

The feelings I get when I am surrounded by the following colours are as follows:

1. Red (ahhhh, my favourite colour): Energy, Enthusiasm
2. Yellow: I feel like reading a lot when I see yellow (wonder if yellow is the colour I should wear more often :D)
3. Green: I don’t really like green but it makes me feel calm, at least, the green of greenery
4. Blue: I find blue a very soothing colour
5. Orange: Orange makes me feel very energetic and ignites my creativity
6. Black: I find black rather depressing. I do wear black more often these days but I don’t really like this colour
7. White (ahhhh….one colour I’d happily never wear given a chance): White is a scary colour (hold on, it’s only because even the slightest bit of dirt shows on white and washing whites is a PAIN). This colour makes me feel very lonely, somehow
8. Grey: If I have a choice, I’d never ever wear grey. I don’t like that colour at all
9. Pink (IT IS NOT MY FAVOURITE COLOUR, PLEASE): I have LOT of pinks with me but almost ALL of them are gifted! And seeing that there’s so much pink with me, people keep gifting me pink, it’s a rather vicious circle……I like pink. It makes me feel rather naughty! πŸ˜‰
10. Brown: To me, brown = formal wear! I think brown makes me feel really elegant and classy! My idea of a formal dress is brown…….
11. Violet: Violet makes me feel rather confident. I don’t have a good collection of violets but I like the lighter shades.

Think I coloured almost all the colours I generally come across! Of course, as far as colours go, there’s no limit to the number of shades that can be, but they can broadly be put under these colour categories….

Anyway, enough about colours……there’s so much that has been said about the colours! πŸ™‚ I know that I am no expert of colours etc, but what I have written above stems from my experience and years of association with colours….through rangolis primarily……….

Pritz

7 Comments

  1. fuse me said,

    January 16, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    Why do you term your colours with reference to your clothes!! Colours on different things feel different, I guess maybe you could write about the colours in a more general appeal like you have talked about green colour.

    Btw, about the colour you have chosen as a background for your blog, what feel does it give you?

  2. Pritesh said,

    January 16, 2006 at 8:22 pm

    I refer specifically to the colours I wear because that’s what affects us the most! We CARRY that colour around the whole day (and for a few days in guys’ case) πŸ˜€

    The colours I wear affect me the most! Of course surrounding colours also make me feel things but I can shut them out! I can wear a red dress and shut out the dismal green surroundings but I can’t be in a red room wearing a green and still feel good! That’s how I am! πŸ˜›

  3. January 16, 2006 at 10:29 pm

    Hm. Nice musy-musy blog. Colours do inspire emotions. To me they do too, very very strongly. But I have not been able to place those emotions in named categories. Same is the case with tunes. I am sure we feel many emotions which have no names.
    I find blue and green soothing and beautiful. I don’t know whether I am brainwashed to believe red to inspire sensual feelings…but ya! It does.
    Colours in isolation are entities in themselves. They play different games with our senses when combined with other colours, tones, and background. For example, colour combinations which look good on a rangoli don’t necessary inspire the same appreciation when worn by a lady! πŸ˜‰

  4. Pritesh said,

    January 17, 2006 at 6:51 am

    Well said Sujju! That’s the reason I mentioned that colours either enhance the effect of the other colour in a combination or contrast it to sort of antagonize it! πŸ™‚

    I have always been intrigued by the effect of colours! it’s only off late that I have begun putting words to how I feel…..and sure, red is also a sensuous colour, but I feel black beats red there, hands down……

  5. Karthik said,

    January 17, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    Interesting article that leaves a lingering doubt in my mind:) Why is the background of your page pink when it’s not your favourite colour?Of course you may claim that its some variant of magenta or some such colour and with my ever increasing ignorance of colours , i’ll just nod my head and say ‘Aha’ !

  6. Rajani said,

    January 30, 2006 at 1:21 am

    You have been tagged!! Check out my blog for details πŸ™‚

  7. Pritesh said,

    January 30, 2006 at 11:37 am

    Haha! Karthik, I’ve chosen this pink as there’s no red background available really…..:( Too bad for a red lover like me!–>


Leave a Reply

